2014 Judges

  • Ivana Jirasek

    Ivana has had a long association with the contemporary glass community as a curator and writer. She catalogued the National Glass Collection at Wagga Wagga Art Gallery and developed exhibitions there and in partnership with the National Gallery of Australia, Australian craft and design centres and Gallery Enomoto, Osaka. Since 2002 she has focused on growing philanthropic support for the arts, with Artsupport Australia, the Sydney Symphony Orchestra and the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra.

    She was a past judge of the Ranamok Glass Prize in 1997, 2006 and 2009.

  • Frank McBride

    Frank McBride has been director of a number of Australian art museums including: Brisbane City Hall Gallery, Wollongong City Gallery and McClelland Regional Gallery. He was also CEO of the JamFactory, as well as the International Program Manager of the Visual Arts and Craft Board of the Australia Council for the Arts.

    Frank has been a chairman of Craft Australia, The Australian Network for Art and Technology and The Regional Galleries Association of NSW. He has also served on the boards of Museums Australia, Artlink Magazine and the Australian Gallery Directors' Council.

  • Andy Plummer

    Andy Plummer co-founded the Ranamok Glass Prize with Maureen Cahill. He has been involved in mining and investment banking for over 40 years. He has also had an active and ongoing interest in art, design and contemporary glass and now spends much of his time in his purpose built studio as a glass practitioner.

    He and his wife, Deirdre, also collect contemporary glass from Australia and New Zealand.

  • Grace Cochrane AM

    Now working independently, Grace Cochrane was formerly a senior curator at the Powerhouse Museum, where she was the coordinating curator for Inspired! Design across time (2005) and curator for Smart works: design and the handmade (2007). Recent external exhibitions include White gums and ramoxes: ceramics by Merric and Arthur Boyd from the Bundanon Trust Collection (2009-2012), Looking glass: reflecting ideas, for the Sarjeant Gallery, NZ (2009-2010) and Potters Cottage: a tribute, for the Manningham Art Gallery, Melbourne (2012).

    Born in New Zealand, Grace has an MFA (1986) and PhD (1999) from the University of Tasmania. For 40 years she has talked and written about the crafts and design and served on many committees. Author of The Crafts Movement in Australia: a History (NSW University Press, 1992) and a number of other publications, she received the Visual Arts/Craft Board's Emeritus medal in 2001, was awarded a D.Litt by the University of NSW in 2007 and in 2013 was made an honorary Member (AM) of the Order of Australia.


Previous Years Judges