2006 Judges

  • Jacqueline Clayton

    Jacqueline Clayton is Head of the School of Design Studies at the College of Fine Arts, University of NSW. In this role, she is responsible for a range of both undergraduate and postgraduate studio programmes in object, spatial, graphic, ceramic, jewellery and textile design.

    Jacqueline has a long-standing interest in contemporary glass, and was centrally involved in the establishment and administration of the glass programme at the University of Western Sydney between 1979 and the mid 1990s. Jacqueline exhibits regularly, both in Australia and overseas, most recently as part of Australian Installation Artists at the Brigham Young Museum of Art, Utah, USA. She is a member of AIECA (Association of International Art Critics) and a contributor to a number of publications including Ceramic Art and Perception.

  • Frank Howarth

    Frank Howarth is passionate about the natural world, and about Sydney and its cultural institutions. He trained as a geologist, completing a Geology Degree at Macquarie University, and followed that with a Master of Science and Society from the University of NSW. In 1996 he became Director and Chief Executive of the Royal Botanic Gardens and Domain Trust.

    In February 2004 he took up his current role as Director of the Australian Museum. The use of natural science and cultural collections to inspire people about the natural world and its conservation attracted Frank to working with botanic gardens and museums. Frank is a keen bushwalker, cyclist and collector of contemporary Australian and New Zealand glass art.

  • Ivana Jirasek

    Ivana Jirasek is Coordinator at Artsuppport Australia, an initiative of the Australia Council for the Arts to increase cultural philanthropy. She had previously worked on Craft Policy for the Australia Council after long involvement with the contemporary craft community as curator and writer. She has worked for Craft Queensland, and was Contemporary Craft Curator for a partnership of the Centre for Contemporary Craft (now known as Object), Wollongong City Gallery, University of Wollongong and the NSW Regional Galleries Association. She catalogued the National Art Glass Collection at Wagga Wagga Art Gallery, and worked on glass projects for a partnership involving the National Gallery of Australia, Curator Geoffrey Edwards and The Thomas Foundation.

    Ivana was a Judge of the RFC Glass Prize (now Ranamok) ten years ago and has been actively involved in Ausglass conferences as coordinator of exhibitions and workshops. She has presented at international glass events including the ICOM Glass Committee Conference and continues to write reviews on glass.

  • Andy Plummer

    Andy Plummer is an Executive Director of Excel Coal Ltd. He and his wife, Deirdre, collect contemporary glass from Australia and New Zealand.


Previous Years Judges